New York Library Association:2011 NYS Writers Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

January 13th, 2012

January 13, 2012
by New York Library Association

ALBANY, NY (01/13/2012)(readMedia)–

Noted authors Toni Morrison, Joyce Carol Oates, E.L. Doctorow, and Pete Hamill are among the 14 writers in the 2012 Class of Inductees into the NYS Writers Hall of Fame. The four will be in attendance at the induction on June 5, 2012, at the Princeton Club of New York. The announcement was made on January 11, 2012 at the Forbes Gallery in New York City by Robert L. Forbes, who serves on the board of the Empire State Center for the Book. The Center for the Book is the organization that oversees the Hall of Fame. Ten deceased writers including Kurt Vonnegut, Washington Irving, and Marianne Moore will also be inducted.

The full list of the 2012 inductees is as follows: John Cheever; Hart Crane; Edna Ferber; Washington Irving; Henry James; Mary McCarthy; Marianne Moore; Barbara Tuchman; Kurt Vonnegut; Richard Wright; E. L. Doctorow; Peter Hamill; Toni Morrison; and Joyce Carol Oates. For more information on each of the authors, please visit the Empire State Center for the Book’s website at

Read More