Danny Glover among Freedom Award Winners

August 10th, 2011

The Commercial Appeal
By Michael Lollar
Aug 10, 2011

The National Civil Rights Museum will honor nine Freedom Award winners, including actors Cicely Tyson and Danny Glover and sports heroes Alonzo Mourning and Bill Russell, as part of the museum’s 20th anniversary celebration.

The museum also is honoring seven icons of the civil rights movement including Rainbow Push founder Rev. Jesse Jackson.

The Freedom Awards, to be presented Nov. 12 at the Cannon Center for the Performing Arts, will go to Tyson for the arts, Glover for activism, Marva Collins for education, Russell as a sports pioneer as the first African American to coach a major sport and Mourning for a sports legacy award for his charity work, former Essence Magazine editor and editorial director Susan L. Taylor as a legacy winner in the activism category, former U.S. Sen. Bill Frist for humanitarianism and the NAACP as a pioneer winner and the Southern Poverty Law Center as a legacy winner in the legal justice category.

Read more